Student Council Representative (SRC)

The Student Representative Council is a statutory and the highest student governing body, entrusted with specific matters by their constituency and College management.

The SRC is governed by the Student Council Constitution as approved by the Student College Council and management of South West Gauteng College.

Aims and Objectives of the SRC:

  • To represent students in all matters affecting them both as individuals and as a body.
  • To support student governance and development by encouraging cooperation among student structures and coordinating joint activities.
  • To promote a culture of democracy and tolerance with the College community, responsibility and patriotism.
  • To advocate for student rights by striving for just standards of general welfare of all students regardless of race, colour, creed, language, disability and sex.
  • To facilitate communication between students and other stakeholders with the education sector.


  • The elections are held at the beginning of each year, between February – March. The term of the year is 12 months.
  • Each Campus elects the campus SRC representatives.
  • The SRC have the opportunity to meet regularly with Campus Management team to report on activities and raise students’ concerns.
  • The Chairperson of each campus SRC forms the SRC Executive of South West Gauteng College.
  • The SRC meetings are held on monthly basis.

Student Representative Council EXECUTIVE 2017/ 18

Name Portfolio Campus Contact Details
Hulisani Mani President Dobsonville


Dieketseng Hlakotsa Deputy President Roodepoort


Olwethu Maboyi Secretary General Roodepoort West


Nomsa Mbhele Deputy Secretary General George Tabor


Denny Monyamane Treasurer General Molapo


Martin Somo Academics General Dobsonville


Samkelisiwe Mazibuko Campus Chairperson George Tabor

074 320 0594

Robert Nyamane Arts and Culture Officer Molapo


Bongani Nkosi Sports Officer Dobsonville


Lerato Machebele Employability Officer Roodeport West


Marvel Mudau Health and Safety Officer Roodepoort


Dumisane Baloyi- Gender, Disability & transformation coordinator Roodepoort



Student Representative Council Campus Chairpersons 2017/ 18

Name Portfolio Campus E-mail Address
Hulisane Mani Campus Chairperson Dobsonville


Samkelisiwe Mazibuko Campus Chairperson George Tabor

074 320 0594

Robert Nyamane Campus Chairperson Molapo


Nondumiso Mazibuko Campus Chairperson Roodepoort


Olwethu Maboi Campus Chairperson Roodepoort West


Innocent Themba Campus Chairperson Technisa

061 421 3089